Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: XBMC on VIX?

  1. #16
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Chesterfield, UK
    Posts
    4,518
    Thanks
    1,186
    Thanked 1,338 Times in 1,081 Posts
    You need to look for vuplus-kodi not xbmc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  2. #17
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Larry-G's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,504
    Thanks
    7,819
    Thanked 22,810 Times in 12,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Avalon View Post
    Kodi on a Solo2 isn't good, do yourself a favor and run it on something more suitable.
    I could not agree more.
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Larry-G For This Useful Post:

    Avalon (14-09-16)

  4. #18
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Fair enough I've got an android box MXIII I'll stick to that

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  5. #19
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,353
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 1,228 Times in 967 Posts
    Hi,
    Raider is now Twix and XBMC ist now called Kodi:-)

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  6. #20
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry if this has been asked before, but i have been out of touch with the Satellite world and have just started using my VU+ Uno again.
    My query is can you install Kodi/Xbmc on a VU+Uno or is it time to upgrade and if so whicjh would be the best V+ receiver to go for.

  7. #21
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,353
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 1,228 Times in 967 Posts
    Hi,
    VU boxes starting with the Solo2 can use Kodi. If you have the old Uno (not 4K) then you cannot use Kodi.

    Just a word of warning. Kodi works quite good on VU but it still cannot be compared to a real Kodi-Player like a PC.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  8. #22
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Chesterfield, UK
    Posts
    4,518
    Thanks
    1,186
    Thanked 1,338 Times in 1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drusso66 View Post
    Sorry if this has been asked before, but i have been out of touch with the Satellite world and have just started using my VU+ Uno again.
    My query is can you install Kodi/Xbmc on a VU+Uno or is it time to upgrade and if so whicjh would be the best V+ receiver to go for.
    vuplus-kodi which is available in the ViX plugin feeds is only available for the Vu+ Solo 4K, Vu+ Duo2, Vu+ Solo2, Vu+ Solo SE v2 & I'm guessing also for the newly released Vu+ Uno 4K and eventually for the soon to be released Vu+ Ultimo 4K. The original Solo, Duo & Uno are not supported and couldn't run them anyhow do to the specs of those receivers. Also the Vu+ Zero doesn't support it.
    But in saying that, to get the best user experience you are best using a device like Amazon fireTV, fireTV stick, Venz v10, Venz v10 Pro etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  9. #23
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2,585
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 769 Times in 601 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    vuplus-kodi which is available in the ViX plugin feeds is only available for the Vu+ Solo 4K, Vu+ Duo2, Vu+ Solo2, Vu+ Solo SE v2 & I'm guessing also for the newly released Vu+ Uno 4K and eventually for the soon to be released Vu+ Ultimo 4K. The original Solo, Duo & Uno are not supported and couldn't run them anyhow do to the specs of those receivers. Also the Vu+ Zero doesn't support it.
    But in saying that, to get the best user experience you are best using a device like Amazon fireTV, fireTV stick, Venz v10, Venz v10 Pro etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Couldn,t agree more Andy, for the last few weeks I have been loaned (I have set it up for the owner )a Himedia Q10 Pro 4K HDR media player which apart from playing anything on my NAS media libraries without a hiccup also has Kodi installed. (and a few other things)
    This box is really impressive, extremely fast, easy to use and really does seem to cope with all formats...... but not cheap, however it will be sad to see it go to its owner
    Octagon SF4008 ViX
    Mut@nt HD51 ViX plus couch flash/image multiboot
    Xtrend ET8500 ViX plus couch flash/boot OS1/OS2 image
    Xtrend ET7500 (standard ViX image)
    EMP Centauri 9 x 16 multiswitch with 1.5M Gibertini 28.2E and 80cm 19.2 dishes
    Panasonic 50 & 55 " plasma TV's plus Acer 28" 4k ips monitor
    Mede8er/Dune media players
    Remote: Simple Control app

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (10-12-16)

  11. #24
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2,622
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 546 Times in 470 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    vuplus-kodi which is available in the ViX plugin feeds is only available for the Vu+ Solo 4K, Vu+ Duo2, Vu+ Solo2, Vu+ Solo SE v2 & I'm guessing also for the newly released Vu+ Uno 4K and eventually for the soon to be released Vu+ Ultimo 4K. The original Solo, Duo & Uno are not supported and couldn't run them anyhow do to the specs of those receivers. Also the Vu+ Zero doesn't support it.
    But in saying that, to get the best user experience you are best using a device like Amazon fireTV, fireTV stick, Venz v10, Venz v10 Pro etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I wouldn't lump those in together, Venz v10 Pro can do so much more with Kodi than AFTV2, one is a Nissan Prius and the other is a Porsche.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K 3TB, 1x Twin DVBS-2 FBC / 1x DVB-C FBC/ 1x Twin DVB-T2.
    VU+ Solo4k 2TB, 2xFBC-S2, 2xC/T2, 1x Sundtek .
    1m Motorised Single LNB Dish, 60cm Fixed Octo LNB Dish.
    Samsung 65HU8500 with SEK-3500, Denon AVR-X2200W 5.1.2.
    Oppo UDP-203
    Panasonic 55VT50.
    Zidoo X9S
    Amazon Fire TV 4k & Amazon Fire TV (SPMC sideloaded).

  12. #25
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Larry-G's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,504
    Thanks
    7,819
    Thanked 22,810 Times in 12,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaMacFunkin View Post
    I wouldn't lump those in together, Venz v10 Pro can do so much more with Kodi than AFTV2, one is a Nissan Prius and the other is a Porsche.
    My FTV sticks and FTV boxes work just fine for my needs and every one else I know who uses them too.
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  13. #26
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Ashley69's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    754
    Thanks
    137
    Thanked 199 Times in 168 Posts
    It's in extensions and is named vuplus-kodi.

    Oops. Don't know what happened here.
    Please ignore this post.
    Last edited by Ashley69; 10-12-16 at 14:21.
    Mut@nt HD51 4K, VU+Duo 2.. Xtrend ET8000
    Edision OS MINI, Fire TV Box. New Apple TV
    Amazon Echo


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •