Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ethernet Switch

  1. #1
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    nsw9154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Hartlepool
    Posts
    2,002
    Thanks
    404
    Thanked 458 Times in 373 Posts

    Ethernet Switch

    I need a few more Ethernet outlets as my Virgin super hub only has 4 outlets, will any of the major brands such as TP-Link and D-Link do the job
    I only want to connect via Ethernet Cable as I have never been a fan of wi-fi connections as they seem to temperamental
    I will probably get a 8 hub so that I have spares for the future but will the signal degrade much

    Thanks in advance Regards Norm

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,658
    Thanks
    1,202
    Thanked 2,495 Times in 1,337 Posts
    you will be fine with a normal gbit switch.
    its highly unlikely you'll push the switch to its limits.
    Vu Ultimo4K, OpenViX 5.0, 8xdvb-c, 8xdvb-s2, 2xdvb-t2
    Vu Solo4K, OpenViX 5.0, 8xdvb-s2
    Dreambox DM900, OpenViX 5.0, 2xdvb-s2, 2xdvb-c/t2
    Terrestrial, Cable, Fixed 28.2e + Unicable2 LNB

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to rossi2000 For This Useful Post:

    nsw9154 (13-01-15)

  4. #3
    ViX Beta Tester Peterj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Veendam
    Posts
    1,266
    Thanks
    600
    Thanked 625 Times in 433 Posts
    I have a Netgear GS116. 16 ports Gb switch.
    Al device connected with Ethernet cable.
    Vu+ Duo2, OpenVix, 3xdvb-c
    Vu+ SoloSE V2, OpenVix, 1xdvb-s2 , 1xdvb-c (Sundtek)
    Vu+ SoloSE V2, OpenVix, 1xdvb-c
    Vu+ SoloSE, OpenVix, 1xdvb-c
    ET6500. OpenVix, 1xdvb-c
    Motor 1m dish

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Peterj For This Useful Post:

    nsw9154 (13-01-15)

  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    567
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 58 Times in 48 Posts
    Get a switch not a hub


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to imish For This Useful Post:

    nsw9154 (13-01-15)

  8. #5
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    nsw9154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Hartlepool
    Posts
    2,002
    Thanks
    404
    Thanked 458 Times in 373 Posts
    Thanks Lads I thought I would ask the Experts looks like I will be OK with what I was going to buy plus a few cat 5 Cables

    Cheers Peterj I may as well get a Big one just to be on the Safe Side
    Last edited by nsw9154; 13-01-15 at 01:44.

  9. #6
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,230 Times in 6,511 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nsw9154 View Post
    Thanks Lads I thought I would ask the Experts looks like I will be OK with what I was going to buy plus a few cat 5 Cables
    No: make sure they are cat5e (e=enhanced), or even cat6 (to be future proof).


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •