Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Skitts's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Strange USB Stick Problem

    This is a strange one..

    Four different memory sticks this has happened to, I bought 3 x Verbatim Pinstripe 8Gb Sticks and one Sandisk Cruzer Blade 8Gb for use in VU+ Duo and a Skybox F5s.

    All now appear to be ok but when inserted into either box, for example to reflash latest openvix image (090) - not seen, cannot load the loader or the image, same thing on all four sticks!

    They have been unwrapped, inserted into PC to copy the necessary files to and then put in the VU+ Duo...

    Is it possible the PC is damaging them in some way ?


    Have just re-inserted to PC and copied some files to them and then back from the stick to a different location, no problems.

    They are formatted to FAT32 out of the box, have also reformatted to FAT32 and still get same issues.

    Any ideas ?
    It's baffling me !

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    540
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 106 Times in 94 Posts
    Two comments.

    ① Is there any other USB device plugged in
    ② Why are you using the USB flashing method, when it is so much easier to use Image Manager to reflash.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to timofee For This Useful Post:

    Skitts (03-12-14)

  4. #3
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Skitts's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks for the reply Timofee.

    There are several other usb devices plugged in to PC, mouse, keyboard, camera, joystick, headset.
    Didn't know about any other method of flashing, have always used the usb method.

    Am always open to new methods, can you point in me in the direction of Image Manager > :-)

  5. #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    540
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 106 Times in 94 Posts
    I was talking about USB devices plugged into the Duo, not in the PC.

    To flash using image manager you FTP the zip file into /media/usb/imagebackups, then go to the VIX image manager menu. This assumes that you have a good USB stick permanently plugged into your Duo, formatted to ext4 and mounted.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to timofee For This Useful Post:

    Skitts (03-12-14)

  7. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Skitts's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Ah Ok, no, no other usb devices in VU+.
    I'll give that a go and use that method from now on.
    Many thanks for the advice.

  8. #6
    Senior Member Walt's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
    Format the sticks using the HP format tool. It seems to be a better quality format.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Walt For This Useful Post:

    Skitts (03-12-14)

  10. #7
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Skitts's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks Walt, I have that utility installed.
    I am currently trying the ftp method :-)

    Still interested to find cause of the issue in 1st place, whether it's my rig that is frying the sticks or something, I know years back that front usb ports could sometimes cause issues on usb sticks

  11. #8
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Skitts's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Finished ! Image via ftp and Image Manager - works a treat so thanks for the headsup on that.
    :-)

  12. #9
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    3,664
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 785 Times in 624 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Skitts View Post
    All now appear to be ok but when inserted into either box, for example to reflash latest openvix image (090) - not seen, cannot load the loader or the image, same thing on all four sticks!
    How many USB ports do you have. Have you tried all of them? In particular the one (possibly) mentioned in the documentation to use when flashing?.
    And I presume you know you don't need to flash to do an update - you can do it from the running system.

    Is it possible the PC is damaging them in some way ?
    Not unless it writes to it in some way when you insert it.
    Have just re-inserted to PC and copied some files to them and then back from the stick to a different location, no problems.
    Have you tried just inserting the stick into the running VU/Skybox systems and seeing whether it gets mounted?
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 4(1 USB)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •