Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 46 to 57 of 57

Thread: VPN Using Private Internet Access

  1. #46
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ashley69 View Post
    You need to install openvpn on the box for it to work. Yes you can create your openvpn folder and drop your files in there.
    THANK YOU for reply
    so if i create that folder and put all the required config files in it without installing it by telnet and without downloading it then i would see the openvpn in the plugin's menu?

  2. #47
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Ashley69's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    910
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 240 Times in 206 Posts
    Openvpn in not in the plugin menu. It’s in Network/ utilities.
    Mut@nt HD51 4K, VU+Duo 2..
    Edision OS MINI, New Apple TV 4k
    Amazon Echo, Amazon Dot


  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Ashley69 For This Useful Post:

    hadiskamal (27-10-17)

  4. #48
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 62 Times in 51 Posts

    openvpn

    All files and instruction here for PIA.openvpn.zip

  5. #49
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have openvpn installed on my solo2 but for some reason it just will not start? Any idea what it could be?
    I have all the files I need and even a startup script which just runs really quickly and says execution finished.
    I am on 5.0.032

  6. #50
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    931
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 301 Times in 187 Posts
    Got this from PIA forum:

    I thought I'd post this because the info isn't easily available, and actually it's pretty easy if you follow the instructions (thanks Cory Thompson).

    1. go to the client support pages of private internet access site and download the OpenVPN Configuration Files (Default)

    2. from the zip file we need ca.crt crl.pem and any of the ovpn files

    3. rename the ovpn file to client.conf.

    4. open the client.conf in a text editor and modify the line "auth-user-pass" so it reads "auth-user-pass password.conf" (without the quotes)

    5. create a password.conf file (create a text file then rename to password.conf)

    6. go to Private Internet Access site and log into your control panel. Click to generate a PPTP/L2TP/SOCKS Username and Password using the button within the control panel and add the info to the password.conf file so the username and password are by themselves on separate lines, eg:
    x598723
    as89a9b90a

    7. create a new folder in your VU/Enigma box in the etc folder and name it openvpn. Then place all 4 files (ca.crt, crl.pem, client.conf, password.conf) into etc/openvpn.

    8. reboot your vu+

    9. Go to settings>network>services>openvpn and install it then start the OPENVPN service. Choose to autorun if you want.

    DONE.

  7. #51
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    194
    Thanked 230 Times in 159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbbuk View Post
    Got this from PIA forum:

    I thought I'd post this because the info isn't easily available, and actually it's pretty easy if you follow the instructions (thanks Cory Thompson).

    1. go to the client support pages of private internet access site and download the OpenVPN Configuration Files (Default)

    2. from the zip file we need ca.crt crl.pem and any of the ovpn files

    3. rename the ovpn file to client.conf.

    4. open the client.conf in a text editor and modify the line "auth-user-pass" so it reads "auth-user-pass password.conf" (without the quotes)
    I have been plating around with digibit and there setup is similar. I didnt need to rename to Client.conf I just named the location extension to .conf

    What I have done is used putty

    On box I created a folder called digibit and dragged all the configs to that folder.

    Now I used putty in typed
    Code:
    cd /digibit
    this will put putty in the digibit folder

    Now I used a simple command to rename all the .ovpn files to .conf
    Code:
    for x in *.ovpn; do mv "$x" "${x%.ovpn}.conf"; done
    Now to add password.txt line to each conf file with one command I used
    Code:
    sed -i -e "s/auth-user-pass/auth-user-pass password.txt/g" /digibit    /*.conf
    I,m not sure if you can still use password.txt with PIA if not just change the command line to auth-user-pass password.conf

    Then created a password.txt in etc/openvpn and added my username and password

    So now I have all the configs in /digibit I can just drag the server I want to etc/openvpn and start openvpn.

    I have seen a nice plugin that you can use to change locations. You need to put your configs on hdd/vpn/(location folder name) then you can easily change VPN,s within the plugin.


    I've also manged to do a simple script with my-private-network
    Last edited by dsayers; 03-12-17 at 04:28.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to dsayers For This Useful Post:

    Bangord30 (03-12-17)

  9. #52
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    khan888's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    512
    Thanks
    543
    Thanked 205 Times in 96 Posts
    Does anyone know how to use PIA on the firestick? Iíve installed the PIA app and itís says connected to VPN, but it says my current IP address is the same as my original still

    Cheers


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Octagon SF4008 (1tb hdd - Openvix 5.1) Edision Combo (8gb USB - Openvix 5.1)

  10. #53
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    bassethound's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    5,709
    Thanks
    6,848
    Thanked 6,096 Times in 2,726 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by khan888 View Post
    Does anyone know how to use PIA on the firestick? I’ve installed the PIA app and it’s says connected to VPN, but it says my current IP address is the same as my original still

    Cheers


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The original firesticks don't support VPN,s
    All PM,s asking about c/s on cable will be ignored and reported to forum staff!

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to bassethound For This Useful Post:

    khan888 (04-12-17)

  12. #54
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    khan888's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    512
    Thanks
    543
    Thanked 205 Times in 96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bassethound View Post
    The original firesticks don't support VPN,s
    If I use the firestick on a VPN supported router would that work?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Octagon SF4008 (1tb hdd - Openvix 5.1) Edision Combo (8gb USB - Openvix 5.1)

  13. #55
    Senior Member TK4|2|1's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    If there's a bright centre to the universe, I'm from the planet that is farthest from.
    Posts
    824
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 160 Times in 144 Posts
    Depends what you are using the fire stick for? Netflix and Amazon wonít work through a vpn


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to TK4|2|1 For This Useful Post:

    khan888 (06-12-17)

  15. #56
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
    If anyone still needs help setting up a vpn I try to answer any queries.

  16. #57
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 62 Times in 51 Posts
    You may also want to look into Smart DNS services if you find VPN blocked

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •