Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 57

Thread: VPN Using Private Internet Access

  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    VPN Using Private Internet Access

    Hello
    I have managed to work most things out with the help of this forum but am stuck on the following.

    How do I set up my VU+ Solo2 to use Private Internet Access as the VPN. I use VIX

    I have searched through the threads and can see there are alternatives but would like to use Private Internet Access if possible.

    Thank You.

  2. #2
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ukoberon View Post
    Hello
    I have managed to work most things out with the help of this forum but am stuck on the following.

    How do I set up my VU+ Solo2 to use Private Internet Access as the VPN. I use VIX

    I have searched through the threads and can see there are alternatives but would like to use Private Internet Access if possible.

    Thank You.

    For those struggling to set up openvpn on their VU+ box, this guide may be useful.

    1. goto the client support pages of private internet access site and download the OpenVPN Configuration Files (Default)

    2. from the zip file we need ca.crt crl.pem and any ovpn file

    3. edit the name of the ovpn file to client.conf.

    4. open the client.conf and modify the line "auth-user-pass" so it reads "auth-user-pass password.conf" (without the quotes)

    5. create a password.conf file

    6. go to Private Internet Access site and log into your control panel. Generate a PPTP/L2TP/SOCKS Username and Password using the button within the control panel and add the info to the password.conf file so the username and password are on separate lines.

    7. place all 4 files (ca.crt, crl.pem, client.conf, password.conf) into the openvpn folder on your box (etc/openvpn)

    8. reboot your vu+

    9. start the service from the settings - network - openvpn

    10. ssh to your vu+ and check the ip with this command wget -qO- http://ipecho.net/plain;echo

    This should do the trick.

  3. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to corythompson For This Useful Post:

    110ben (08-05-17),Alankellyeire (14-05-17),bassethound (14-05-17),colheath (24-08-17),Colinhunter (24-08-16),DeepSeaDozzer (25-05-17),hardy1976 (24-09-14),Liamalone (06-06-17),seame (23-09-14),ukoberon (23-09-14)

  4. #3
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is Private Internet Access a reliable VPN service?

  5. #4
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
    I've not had it long enough to identify any issues.

  6. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    duoduo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    North West Seaside
    Posts
    1,847
    Thanks
    605
    Thanked 375 Times in 295 Posts
    I'm using it at the moment, been ok just a little annoying sometimes when too many people are using the same location as you it effects the viewing quality. It is easily solved you just need to log out and back in with a different country/area.
    Vix image (usually latest) - VU Solo 4K- WD 1TB INTERNAL HDD - 28.2E FIXED and 1 Cable tuner

    If my response has helped you, don't forget to hit the thanks button below.
    I appreciate you appreciate me

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to duoduo For This Useful Post:

    hardy1976 (24-09-14)

  8. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Cory - thats perfect thanks ! I have been using Private Internet Access on 2 other Android devices for a year without any major issues.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ukoberon For This Useful Post:

    hardy1976 (24-09-14)

  10. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sorry to bump an old thread but I'm interested in setting up a VPN on my Solo2 box.

    Quick question... Will this have any effect on remote accessing my Solo2 box? Currently I access my box via an ip address and port forwarding on my router

    Thanks

  11. #8
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi

    followed all of the steps through to 9 with no problem, im just abit stuck on 10, can someone please simplify how i carry out this step please...great tutorial BTW

  12. #9
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13,981
    Thanks
    3,337
    Thanked 4,066 Times in 3,175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyp12345 View Post
    hi

    followed all of the steps through to 9 with no problem, im just abit stuck on 10, can someone please simplify how i carry out this step please...great tutorial BTW
    Can you telnet into the box?
    If so, use that & issue the command mentioned:
    Code:
    wget -qO- http://ipecho.net/plain;echo
    This step isn't needed for the VPN to work, just verifies the IP address your box is using publicly.

  13. #10
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    all sorted now one of my .conf files was wrong thanks for your help

  14. #11
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 89 Times in 63 Posts
    Not really a huge thing as it doesn't seem to be causing an issue, but using the file name password.conf is not ideal, when openvpn starts it will try to connect using any file that ends with .conf in the /etc/openvpn folder, this means it will think the connection password.conf failed - it would be better to call it something like password.txt.

  15. #12
    Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Back end of Beyond
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Sorry to open an old thread, (and in my case ask a probably stupid question) but I am also looking at configuring PIA for my box (Vu+ Duo).
    I have telnet'd into the box and can't see an openvpn directory in the /etc directory.
    I have looked in the plugins list - but can't see openvpn there, nor in the menus (via system -> Network)
    Where is this elusive openvpn
    BTW I am on the latest build openvix-3.2.005

    Cheers
    Last edited by meggiedude; 15-09-15 at 15:32.

  16. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to meggiedude For This Useful Post:

    Blu-ray (26-03-17),hadiskamal (27-10-17),josfit (26-05-17)

  17. #13
    Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Back end of Beyond
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by meggiedude View Post
    Sorry to open an old thread, (and in my case ask a probably stupid question) but I am also looking at configuring PIA for my box (Vu+ Duo).
    I have telnet'd into the box and can't see an openvpn directory in the /etc directory.
    I have looked in the plugins list - but can't see openvpn there, nor in the menus (via system -> Network)
    Where is this elusive openvpn
    BTW I am on the latest build openvix-3.2.005

    Cheers
    Cancel that - by the power of google I figured it out

    Via telnet type in the following "opkg install openvpn"
    Just need to pay my dues and configure it now.

  18. #14
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for this.
    I got there in the end.

  19. #15
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Many thanks for this information
    works a treat

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •