Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Best HD AV Sender/Receiver (HDMI?)

    I have a VU+ solo and have recently got a tv for my bedroom for Xmas. What is the best quality system avail, without spending an extortionate amount of money, which would enable me to watch 1080p quality pictures on the second tv without investing on a secondary box?

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,220 Times in 6,510 Posts
    Not giving the answer, but some thoughts:
    1- 1080p via wireless HDMI is something I wouldn't suggest. A very high bandwith, for what purpose? Use 1080i or 720p instead.
    2- Wireless HDMI gives you only limited options: you need an IR-signal to the box, a second R/C and you can't use the box stand alone.
    3- Wireless HDMI is quite expensive.

    All the above can be overcome by using a cheap E2 box, setup as client.


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  3. #3
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your valuable and much appreciated reply. Your thoughts are kind of what I'd already been thinking but just wanted to weigh things up given the cost of an additional box and getting cables to the bedroom from the dish etc. Cost wise probably not much in it but thought if it saved all the hassle I'd go the AV route as long as it gave a good performance.

  4. #4
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,220 Times in 6,510 Posts
    No need to have the LNB connected to the secondary box. You need ethernet to hook it up as client to the server box. Hence you can use a cheap box (e.g. a xp1000 or secondhand Solo)


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Rob van der Does For This Useful Post:

    craig37 (08-01-14)

  6. #5
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,220 Times in 6,510 Posts
    My bedroom box has only an Ethernet connection; so I can watch live-tv using the tuners of the mainbox and I can watch all recorded stuff. And the server box operates independent of the client box.


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  7. #6
    Senior Member bellejt's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,013
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 179 Times in 158 Posts
    HDMI wireless is useless in house with metal in the floors.In my living room is only a suppoting beem because I took a wall down and because off that it is not working anymore.I have such an expensive system and only works on same floor.The remote is working through HDMI but indeed a second cheep box is better.If possible a simple sat connection to a disc and you have all you want.

    PS : never tried the ones that are working trough electricity network (220 V) .Seemes they are fully working but would not take the test my own because they are very expensive to.Perhaps somebody else tried them.
    Last edited by bellejt; 29-12-13 at 17:27.
    VU+ DUO2 quad tuner with HDD 1 TB + Latest Openvix and VU+ DUO2 remote stream and Edision OS1 openvix apollo
    1 triax 88 cm rotor single LNB 30 E- 40 W
    1 triax 88 cm fixed - 4 quad LNB 13E-19E-23.5E-28.2E

  8. #7
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,220 Times in 6,510 Posts
    1- For the bedroombox I wouldn't even consider connecting it to a dish. The client box setup works perfect.
    2- The socalled 'homeplugs' are very much depending on local circumstances. Same story as for WiFi. If it works for one, it doesn't have to work for another.
    Very important is that they are all on the same electrical circuit (not sure about the exact name in English).


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  9. #8
    Junior Member mousedown's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    The term you are looking for is ring. Hopefully I didn't offend, your English is excellent.

    Thanks for the tip on the client box. Just bought a Solo2 for the main room, no need for a fancy box for the 2nd. I'm going to find the cheapest 2nd hand box to use for a client. Will they all perform this task adequately regardless of age?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,220 Times in 6,510 Posts
    As far as I know all E2-boxes will work as 'client box'. Just make sure the box is capable of running a recent PLi-based image (like ViX). The tuner may even be defect or absent.


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •