Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

Thread: Andy Murray: US Open success 'means the world to me

Title
    Junior Admin
    Donated Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,599 Times in 2,632 Posts

Andy Murray: US Open success 'means the world to me

ndy Murray says his US Open win "means the world" and that he is relieved to have ended Britain's long search for another male Grand Slam champion.
    The Scot, 25, beat Novak Djokovic in five sets to claim his first major.
    "It is what I have been working towards for the last 10 years of my life," Murray told BBC Sport in New York. "It means the world to me."

The last British man to win a Grand Slam title was Fred Perry, who won the US Open in 1936, 76 years ago.
    Murray has long been tipped to emulate Perry, who won eight majors, but had lost in his four previous Grand Slam finals.
    He finally ended his barren run at the fifth attempt, beating defending champion and world number two Djokovic 7-6 (12-10) 7-5 2-6 3-6 6-2 in a contest at Flushing Meadows that lasted almost five hours.
    "I think everyone is in a little bit of shock that it has happened," said Murray, speaking to the media after his win. "I've seen my mum after I've lost Slam finals and she has been really upset. Everyone's really happy.
    "It is hard to explain. It has been a long, long journey to this point, so I don't know if it is disbelief or whatever, but I am very, very happy on the inside. I'm sorry if I'm not showing it as you would like."

sked what it felt like to end Britain's lengthy wait for a male Grand Slam winner, Murray replied: "I've been reminded of that most days of my life for the last few years. It's great to have finally done it and I don't need to get asked that anymore."