Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19,345
    Thanks
    17,748
    Thanked 18,043 Times in 4,831 Posts

    How to flash your VU+Duo with RS232 and LAN

    As the title, How to flash your VU+Duo with RS232 and LAN.

    Download the VuUtil HERE

    See attached PDF for guide how to use.
    D I S C L A I M E R
    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE

    GI-XPEED LX3, Miraclebox Premium Twin Combo HD, Miraclebox MINI HD Combo, TM-Nano 2 Super
    Ferguson Ariva HD 102 Mini, 103 + 203
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish


  2. The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    1344Shahram (18-12-12),amint1 (24-09-10),biskra (22-06-14),del_piero3 (11-11-13),dmac (03-11-12),Fuzzy (19-03-14),jill (05-02-12),nawwaf (10-10-11),Petruk (07-06-14),quadrant (13-06-10),Recycled (01-01-11),rockett1001 (24-08-13),ttt1892 (16-05-10)

  3. #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 27 Times in 17 Posts
    This is by the with RS232 port, but how about LAN way?
    Hoiw to flash when LAN is used, how get to the LAN flash mode?
    Is i same way when you want to flash in LAN mode a DM800HD, push the front button?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to pege63 For This Useful Post:

    chadac (13-06-10)

  5. #3
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19,345
    Thanks
    17,748
    Thanked 18,043 Times in 4,831 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pege63 View Post
    This is by the with RS232 port, but how about LAN way?
    Hoiw to flash when LAN is used, how get to the LAN flash mode?
    Is i same way when you want to flash in LAN mode a DM800HD, push the front button?
    LAN alone is not possible.
    D I S C L A I M E R
    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE

    GI-XPEED LX3, Miraclebox Premium Twin Combo HD, Miraclebox MINI HD Combo, TM-Nano 2 Super
    Ferguson Ariva HD 102 Mini, 103 + 203
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish


  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    chadac (13-06-10),pege63 (28-05-10)

  7. #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 27 Times in 17 Posts
    Hmm thats a lost

  8. #5
    V.I.P grtmoby's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    1,575
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 727 Times in 477 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pege63 View Post
    Hmm thats a lost
    y a loss, u got the usb and rs232
    Nobody knows everything. We were born to help and aid each other... That's why we are all here, to share, teach and learn.
    Rules can be found HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite HERE


  9. The Following User Says Thank You to grtmoby For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (28-05-10)

  10. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I still have the Serial cable that I had to use on the odd occasion that I killed the Dreambox, but this is a 'null modem cable' (ie the Tx and Rx are reversed), can it be confirmed that this is no good for the Vu+ and just a normal serial cable is needed?
    Thanks

  11. #7
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19,345
    Thanks
    17,748
    Thanked 18,043 Times in 4,831 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wobbler View Post
    I still have the Serial cable that I had to use on the odd occasion that I killed the Dreambox, but this is a 'null modem cable' (ie the Tx and Rx are reversed), can it be confirmed that this is no good for the Vu+ and just a normal serial cable is needed?
    Thanks
    Same cable
    D I S C L A I M E R
    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE

    GI-XPEED LX3, Miraclebox Premium Twin Combo HD, Miraclebox MINI HD Combo, TM-Nano 2 Super
    Ferguson Ariva HD 102 Mini, 103 + 203
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish


  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    wobbler (03-06-10)

  13. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Still too ambiguous for me.
    The last question and answer.

    In the pdf, it says "serial cable", not "null-model cable".
    So is it null-modem cable or regular serial cable?
    If it is really null-modem cable, then this pdf has to be fixed.

    Just answer:
    null-modem
    or
    regular serial

    Another question. In the pdf it says "Click Connect Button", and then look for the message "Serial port open success. Please turn on your box"
    Is it really possible to have a "serial port open success" while the box is turned off completely?
    Unless the success is only with the port at the PC's end.
    And if standby mode is needed, then it might not be possible to put the box into it, if there is an emergency when the box appears to be dead.

  14. #9
    V.I.P grtmoby's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    1,575
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 727 Times in 477 Posts
    null modem cable

    box is switched off and not on standby
    Nobody knows everything. We were born to help and aid each other... That's why we are all here, to share, teach and learn.
    Rules can be found HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite HERE


  15. #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    147
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks.

    Turns out, my message was too short to post....

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to flash a VU+ Duo using a USB stick
    By Sicilian in forum VU+ Duo Talk
    Replies: 156
    Last Post: 07-04-14, 21:33
  2. Dream Elite DM7025 Pure Flash 1.0
    By Sicilian in forum Dreambox DM7025 Images
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-10, 15:59

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •